Finding The Perfect Man and House…

10 Mar

for the past month, our family’s been sick every single day. my husband got sick for a week, then my daughter for the week after and then it was my turn. then my husband got sick again… this cycle continued on for about a month now!

this week was my turn and my left ear was completely plugged, along with my sinuses. not fun at all! i detest taking medication but it was my only relief, especially from my mentally exhausting job that i do everyday.

thank god for my mom and us being in such close proximity to her! i don’t think i would have survived without my mom’s help!

today, we planned to go visit my in-laws, which is about 45 mins away. my mother in law is leaving to korea to attend a wedding there, so we wanted to spend some time with her before she left. i ended up not going because i was pretty much bedridden all day. my husband took our daughter there all by himself and spent the whole day there! i was so proud of them, especially my husband. i know it wasn’t easy for him because he conked out by 8:30pm! 🙂 my husband’s hard work paid off as it allowed me to have some much needed rest!

on the way home, my husband checked out some houses in burlington, ontario.

yes, we are looking for a house. we’ve been searching for a dream house for several months now.

one of the reasons why we live where we live now, is because of the close proximity to my mom’s house. we live in the same building as my mom. she lives on the 5th floor and we live on the 7th floor and i absolutely love it! we each have our own homes, so it’s not too close but still close enough. we go over to my mom’s place to have dinner at times or vice versa. it’s so convenient, especially with a baby. when i’m busy, my mom comes up to watch her for an hour or so and i don’t have to pack and drive every morning to drop off my daughter before leaving for work. i absolutely love it!

i’ve never lived very far from my mom…. obviously, i’m still pretty attached to my mom. although it’s my idea and hope to live in burlington, i’m scared to actually do it.

however, i really want to live in my dream house… i have this mental picture of a perfect house, but i know we can’t afford it. regardless of affordability, i’m still hoping to find a house that’s somewhat close to my dream house.

to find a good house at a good price has been hard work! i’ve decided that burlington was a dream city/neighbourhood. i don’t know what it is exactly, but i love that place. it’s a bit rural, yet still in the city. it’s not too far or too close to toronto. however, it’s a bit far from my mom’s house, which is in mississauga. plus, my husband and i both work in mississauga… it almost seems like living in mississauga is more of a practical and reasonable decision. so, we’ve been looking at both cities – mississauga and burlington.

looking for a house is a part time job. on top of working 8 hours a day, cooking, cleaning, taking care of a child and studying… i wish i had another me to share my workload. that would be so wonderful…

being sick and all, i started to get tired of looking for a house. the hardest part is the disappointment that you feel after seeing a house in person. how different it is from my mental picture of a perfect house and thinking… this is never going to happen. today, i actually thought about this house hunting process and thought it was very similar to finding a husband or the dream guy. you feel like it’s never going to happen, especially after many failed dates/set-ups… then the perfect one comes along when least expected and you feel like it’s too good to be true! and you have to be patient through the whole thing and stay positive. you see others with their perfect mate and feel like when is it ever going to happen to you? but when it does… you are so thankful that you waited…

i don’t know if i’m correct in saying this (since i haven’t found the perfect house yet) but i’m still hoping for it. i’m not settling for less and i’m willing to wait a long time until i find the one!

hopefully, this will happen soon!

Leave a Reply

